Catton, Bruce

(redirected from Bruce Catton)
Also found in: Wikipedia.

Catton, Bruce,

1899–1978, American historian, b. Petoskey, Mich. He studied at Oberlin College and then entered upon a varied career as a journalist (1926–42) and public official (1942–52). His service with the War Production Board during World War II led to his first major book, The War Lords of Washington (1948). After 1952 he devoted himself to full-time literary work, serving as an editor from 1954 (senior editor, 1959) of the American Heritage magazine. In 1954 he received the Pulitzer Prize for his historical work, A Stillness at Appomattox (1953). Catton has written extensively on the military history of the Civil War; his many works include Mr. Lincoln's Army (1951), Glory Road (1952), This Hallowed Ground (1956), Grant Moves South (1960), Grant Takes Command (1969), The Centennial History of the Civil War (3 vol., 1961–65), and Prefaces to History (1970).

Catton, Bruce

(1899–1978) historian; born in Petoskey, Mich. Before becoming America's most popular historian of the Civil War, he worked as a newspaperman in Boston, Cleveland, and Washington, and held posts with the U.S. Department of Commerce (1945–46; 1948). His best-selling A Stillness at Appomattox (1953) earned him a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award in 1954. Editor and senior editor of American Heritage Magazine from 1954 until his death, he produced ten more books on the Civil War, ending with Grant Takes Command (1968).
References in periodicals archive ?
In addition, the museum also highlights two influential Michiganders--Civil War historian Bruce Catton and printmaker-extraordinaire Gwen Frostic.
Born in Canada, Catton's father was a New Zealander and a relation of historian Bruce Catton.
During World War I he served as the Arkansas state fuel administrator and in 1927 he became the state's director of relief following the Mississippi Valley flood, which was deemed by historian Bruce Catton "as serious as anything the South has faced since the reconstruction days after the Civil War.
The collaborative work of Dave and Jack Dempsey, "Ink Trails: Michigan's Famous and Forgotten Authors" is a 200 page compendium showcasing an imposing list of seventeen writers deftly organized regionally within the states and range from Southeast Michigan's George Matthew Adams (Today's Talk); to Central/South Central Michigan's William McKendree Carleton (Verse Virtuoso); to Southwest Michigan's Liberty Hyde Bailey (A Bountiful Life); to Southern Lower Michigan's Charles Bruce Catton (American's Civil War Storyteller); to the Upper Peninsula's Caroll Walker Rankin (Northern Lights).
There's no such thing as a truly definitive account--even the multivolume works by great historians such as Foote and Bruce Catton must omit much, and bear the marks and limitations of their authors' personalities.
Avenge the patriotic gore that flecked the streets of Baltimore"--promised something other than Bruce Catton.
With this book, Rick Atkinson cements his place among America's great popular historians, in the tradition of Bruce Catton and Stephen Ambrose.
Fifty years ago, Bruce Catton devoted three volumes to this longsuffering but ultimately victorious army.
An Army at Dawn is majestic in its sweep, recalling the Civil War trilogies of Bruce Catton and Shelby Foote.
The 1950s was the time when the writings of Bruce Catton called attention to the literary and historical goldmines that unit histories could be.
This month's selection is Bruce Catton, This Hallowed Ground: The Story of the Union Side of the Civil War, Doubleday, 1956.
Yes, and Forever Amber to Macaulay, Pepys and Evelyn, and Gone With the Wind to Bruce Catton and Samuel Eliot Morison.