Catton, Bruce

(redirected from Bruce Catton)
Also found in: Wikipedia.

Catton, Bruce,

1899–1978, American historian, b. Petoskey, Mich. He studied at Oberlin College and then entered upon a varied career as a journalist (1926–42) and public official (1942–52). His service with the War Production Board during World War II led to his first major book, The War Lords of Washington (1948). After 1952 he devoted himself to full-time literary work, serving as an editor from 1954 (senior editor, 1959) of the American Heritage magazine. In 1954 he received the Pulitzer Prize for his historical work, A Stillness at Appomattox (1953). Catton has written extensively on the military history of the Civil War; his many works include Mr. Lincoln's Army (1951), Glory Road (1952), This Hallowed Ground (1956), Grant Moves South (1960), Grant Takes Command (1969), The Centennial History of the Civil War (3 vol., 1961–65), and Prefaces to History (1970).

Catton, Bruce

(1899–1978) historian; born in Petoskey, Mich. Before becoming America's most popular historian of the Civil War, he worked as a newspaperman in Boston, Cleveland, and Washington, and held posts with the U.S. Department of Commerce (1945–46; 1948). His best-selling A Stillness at Appomattox (1953) earned him a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award in 1954. Editor and senior editor of American Heritage Magazine from 1954 until his death, he produced ten more books on the Civil War, ending with Grant Takes Command (1968).
References in periodicals archive ?
During World War I he served as the Arkansas state fuel administrator and in 1927 he became the state's director of relief following the Mississippi Valley flood, which was deemed by historian Bruce Catton "as serious as anything the South has faced since the reconstruction days after the Civil War.
The collaborative work of Dave and Jack Dempsey, "Ink Trails: Michigan's Famous and Forgotten Authors" is a 200 page compendium showcasing an imposing list of seventeen writers deftly organized regionally within the states and range from Southeast Michigan's George Matthew Adams (Today's Talk); to Central/South Central Michigan's William McKendree Carleton (Verse Virtuoso); to Southwest Michigan's Liberty Hyde Bailey (A Bountiful Life); to Southern Lower Michigan's Charles Bruce Catton (American's Civil War Storyteller); to the Upper Peninsula's Caroll Walker Rankin (Northern Lights).
Avenge the patriotic gore that flecked the streets of Baltimore"--promised something other than Bruce Catton.
With this book, Rick Atkinson cements his place among America's great popular historians, in the tradition of Bruce Catton and Stephen Ambrose.
An Army at Dawn is majestic in its sweep, recalling the Civil War trilogies of Bruce Catton and Shelby Foote.
This month's selection is Bruce Catton, This Hallowed Ground: The Story of the Union Side of the Civil War, Doubleday, 1956.
Anyone who has visited a Civil War battlefield, read the Bruce Catton books or seen the great PBS series, must be in awe of the bravery of the men who fought so long, with such horrible losses, and often under weak generalship (especially for the Union).
In 1928, when David Buick, was interviewed in Detroit by Bruce Catton (then a Detroit newspaperman; later a renowned Civil War historian), the elderly auto pioneer recalled the beginning.
The American Heritage Multimedia History of the Civil War, based on the book by historian Bruce Catton, is the first CD-ROM title to be co-developed under the agreement.
And historian Bruce Catton wrote of the Civil War veterans in this country: "They seemed to speak for a certainty, for an assured viewpoint, for a standard of values which did not fluctuate, that put such things as bravery, patriotism, confidence in the progress of the human race, and the belief in a broadening freedom for all men, at the very basis of what men moved by.
Other CD-ROM titles currently intended to be released include The American Heritage Multimedia History of The Civil War reference work and simulation game based on the classic Bruce Catton book; Scientific American Library's The Planets, featuring a planetarium, planetary simulation and interactive tour of the solar system; The Ultimate Einstein, which features an interactive history of Einstein's life and a simulation playhouse that lets users participate in a series of experiments to demonstrate Einstein's theories: and several children's titles, including Hard Hat, the first CD-ROM in the Work & Play series, which introduces youngsters to the playful side of the working world; a second CD-ROM based on the Bank Street Ready-to-Read series, Not now
In 1954, Parton and some associates created the American Heritage Publishing Company, with historian Bruce Catton as its chief editor.