Historic Camden Revolutionary War Site

Historic Camden Revolutionary War Site

Address:222 Broad St
PO Box 710
Camden, SC 29020

Phone:803-432-9841
Fax:803-432-3815
Web: www.historic-camden.net
Size: 107 acres.
Established: Authorized on May 24, 1982.
Location:Just south of Camden, South Carolina, off US 521.
Activities:Guided and self-guided tours of the outdoor museum complex, which includes the town site of 18th century Camden, the restored and furnished 1785 John Craven House, Cunningham House circa 1830, two early 19th century logs cabins with exhibits, partially restored 1795 McCaa House, reconstructions of some of the military fortifications, the reconstructed and furnished Joseph Kershaw mansion, headquarters for Lord Cornwallis, a blacksmith exhibit and a .6-mile Nature Trail. Visitors can also enjoy walking the Old Camden Trace, a 3.5 mile route through Historic Camden, the Nature Trail, the 1758 Quaker Cemetery and numerous other landmarks of early Camden.
Special Features:This early colonial village was established in the mid-1730s and was known as Fredericksburg Township. In 1768 the village was named Camden in honor of Charles Pratt, Lord Camden, a British Parliamentary champion of Colonial rights. The site was occupied by the British under Lord Cornwallis from May 1, 1780, until May 9, 1781. Camden was one of the few frontier settlements where two Revolutionary War battles were fought: August 16, 1780, and April 25, 1781. Restorations and reconstructions include fort sites, log cabins, and 18th- and 19th-century homes, including the Joseph Kershaw house where Lord Cornwallis made his headquarters.

See other parks in South Carolina.
Full browser ?