Unamuno

(redirected from Miguel de Unamuno)
Also found in: Dictionary, Wikipedia.

Unamuno

Miguel de . 1864--1936, Spanish philosopher and writer
References in periodicals archive ?
of New Mexico, Albuquerque) examines two inter-related sets of philosophical issues in the work of Spanish and Mexican philosophers, Miguel de Unamuno and Antonio Caso.
Cuadernos Catedra Miguel de Unamuno 42, 2 (2006): 13-38.
Examples also abound among important writers who can hardly be accused of being poor translators, such as the great Spanish novelist Miguel de Unamuno.
If you also fancy Juan Cruz's book, a translation of a novel called Niebla (Fog) by Miguel de Unamuno, the other element of Other Plans, you can get the pair for pounds 15.
He even explores relatively obscure literary sources such as the fiction of philosopher Miguel de Unamuno.
It took a home-grown existentialist like Miguel de Unamuno to underscore the peculiar nature of the church-state conflict in Spain that came to a boil soon after Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapatero became prime minister in March 2004.
On the first pages of the novel, the reader encounters references to the world-renowned head of the Tartu-Moscow school of semiotics, Yuri Lotman; to the Russian scientist and philosopher Ilya Prigogine; and to such Western philosophers or philosophically inclined writers as Albert Camus, Miguel de Unamuno, Jose Ortega y Gasset, Jorge Luis Borges, and Franz Kafka.
The present book merely informs us that "he calls himself a philosophical theist in the tradition of Plato, Kant, Pierre Bayle, Charles Peirce, William James, and Miguel de Unamuno.
Take the classical-modern philosopher Miguel de Unamuno.
During the Columbus Day speeches at the University of Salamanca, its rector, the existentialist philosopher Miguel de Unamuno, displayed intellectual bravery.
My necessarily partial reading of Eco's third novel will focus on Don Quixote as an intertext, especially as mediated through Miguel de Unamuno, and on Eco's use of Pascal's Wager as a key plot device.