Catton, Bruce

(redirected from Bruce Catton)
Also found in: Wikipedia.

Catton, Bruce,

1899–1978, American historian, b. Petoskey, Mich. He studied at Oberlin College and then entered upon a varied career as a journalist (1926–42) and public official (1942–52). His service with the War Production Board during World War II led to his first major book, The War Lords of Washington (1948). After 1952 he devoted himself to full-time literary work, serving as an editor from 1954 (senior editor, 1959) of the American Heritage magazine. In 1954 he received the Pulitzer Prize for his historical work, A Stillness at Appomattox (1953). Catton has written extensively on the military history of the Civil War; his many works include Mr. Lincoln's Army (1951), Glory Road (1952), This Hallowed Ground (1956), Grant Moves South (1960), Grant Takes Command (1969), The Centennial History of the Civil War (3 vol., 1961–65), and Prefaces to History (1970).

Catton, Bruce

(1899–1978) historian; born in Petoskey, Mich. Before becoming America's most popular historian of the Civil War, he worked as a newspaperman in Boston, Cleveland, and Washington, and held posts with the U.S. Department of Commerce (1945–46; 1948). His best-selling A Stillness at Appomattox (1953) earned him a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award in 1954. Editor and senior editor of American Heritage Magazine from 1954 until his death, he produced ten more books on the Civil War, ending with Grant Takes Command (1968).
References in periodicals archive ?
"Arsenic and red tape" as one long-lost postwar account called it, or Bruce Catton's classic War Lords of Washington (1948), reveals in more colorful prose the machinations of top officials (and those have not gone away).
In addition, the museum also highlights two influential Michiganders--Civil War historian Bruce Catton and printmaker-extraordinaire Gwen Frostic.
I consumed Stephen Ambrose's "D-Day," his second volume, "Citizen Soldiers," and his follow-up, "Band of Brothers." But I've just cleared those off my nightstand and Bruce Catton's "The Civil War" is there now.
Born in Canada, Catton's father was a New Zealander and a relation of historian Bruce Catton. She lived in Christchurch, attended the University of Canterbury, and after earning a master's in creative writing at Victoria University of Wellington, published her thesis as her first novel in 2008 and accepted a fellowship at the Iowa Writers' Workshop.
During World War I he served as the Arkansas state fuel administrator and in 1927 he became the state's director of relief following the Mississippi Valley flood, which was deemed by historian Bruce Catton "as serious as anything the South has faced since the reconstruction days after the Civil War."
The collaborative work of Dave and Jack Dempsey, "Ink Trails: Michigan's Famous and Forgotten Authors" is a 200 page compendium showcasing an imposing list of seventeen writers deftly organized regionally within the states and range from Southeast Michigan's George Matthew Adams (Today's Talk); to Central/South Central Michigan's William McKendree Carleton (Verse Virtuoso); to Southwest Michigan's Liberty Hyde Bailey (A Bountiful Life); to Southern Lower Michigan's Charles Bruce Catton (American's Civil War Storyteller); to the Upper Peninsula's Caroll Walker Rankin (Northern Lights).
There's no such thing as a truly definitive account--even the multivolume works by great historians such as Foote and Bruce Catton must omit much, and bear the marks and limitations of their authors' personalities.
Avenge the patriotic gore that flecked the streets of Baltimore"--promised something other than Bruce Catton.
Before Petraeus left Fort Leavenworth, Kan., to command MNF-I in 2007, historian Glenn Robertson gave him a copy of Bruce Catton's "Grant Takes Command," a book chronicling Grant's Civil War campaigns from Chattanooga to Appomattox.
With this book, Rick Atkinson cements his place among America's great popular historians, in the tradition of Bruce Catton and Stephen Ambrose." ROBERT KILEBREW
Fifty years ago, Bruce Catton devoted three volumes to this longsuffering but ultimately victorious army.
An Army at Dawn is majestic in its sweep, recalling the Civil War trilogies of Bruce Catton and Shelby Foote.