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(systems engineering)
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, 6E, Copyright © 2003 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.


Abbr. for “cycles per minute.”

critical path method, CPM

A system of project planning, scheduling, and control which combines all relevant information into a single master plan, permitting the establishment of the optimum sequence and duration of operations; the interrelation of all the efforts required to complete a construction project are shown; an indication is given of the efforts which are critical to timely completion of the project.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Architecture and Construction. Copyright © 2003 by McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.


This article is provided by FOLDOC - Free Online Dictionary of Computing (foldoc.org)


(1) (Critical Path Method) A project management planning and control technique. The critical path is the series of tasks that have no built-in slack time. Any one of those tasks that takes longer to complete lengthens the total project time.

(2) (Cost Per Mille/Milli - per thousand) CPM is typically the price paid for a banner ad on 1,000 Web pages. For example, a USD $25 CPM means the website owner is paid 2.5 cents per impression. More often, CPM is around $3, which equates to three tenths of a cent (.003) per impression. See pay-per-click, eCPM, RPM and banner ad.

(3) (Copies Per Minute) The rated speed of a printer or copy machine.

(4) (CP/M) (Control Program for Microprocessors) A single user operating system for the 8080 and Z80 microprocessors. Created by Gary Kildall of Digital Research, CP/M had its heyday in the early 1980s, and although unsophisticated, was a major contributor to the personal computer revolution. However, CP/M computer vendors never standardized a floppy disk or screen format, requiring software publishers to create and stock multiple CP/M versions. After entering this uncontrolled market in 1981, IBM readily set the personal computer standards with its PC, and some of those standards remain to this day (see IBM PC).

CP/M Might Have Become DOS
Although IBM asked Kildall to provide the operating system for its new PC, he did not agree to IBM's demands. IBM went to Microsoft, which purchased QDOS from Seattle Computer Products and turned it into PC-DOS and MS-DOS. The rest is history. The irony is that Microsoft's DOS was modeled after CP/M. Digital Research was later acquired by Novell and then Caldera, which later merged with The SCO Group.

The Otrona Attache
Introduced in 1982, the Attache was the smallest CP/M portable computer on the market. Weighing 17 pounds and priced at USD $5,000, the Attache was an elite computer for prosperous families. (Image courtesy of Robin Bartlett.)

CP/M News Clips in Its Heyday
CP/M was the only OS that ran on microcomputers from different vendors. With a Z80 card, it even ran on the Apple II. A major contributor to the personal computer revolution, CP/M motivated IBM to create the PC; the most successful desktop platform in history.
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References in periodicals archive ?
Your cost per thousand (CPM): $100,000 divided by 173,45.85 = $576 per thousand, still achievable.
A cost per thousand index (CPM) per show based on Nielsen cost-per-thousand figures for 1989.
For example, four cavities may have a lower cost per thousand parts than a six-cavity mold.
Media cost per thousand packages sold, say, may be more useful than audience cost per thousand."
Interestingly, large premium pub- lishers such as The Economist and Financial Times have started experi- menting with new digital trading models, shifting from cost per thou- sand/viewable cost per thousand to cost per hour.
Next, looking at the price of digital advertising on the Chronicle of Higher Education website, he came up with a fair CPM (cost per thousand page views) rate for the feature story on Penn State's home page.
He estimates CPM (cost per thousand) for syndicated shows will increase 5% to 6%, with more inventory sold upfront this year due to economic uncertainty.
Due to the current economy, the Mushroom Council was able to secure a competitively-discounted rate for the ads, which included production and hosting on the CBS-TV "Super Screen." In fact, the total cost per thousand was less than a quarter at $.13.
Compared to display ads, the cost per thousand for this form of advertising is much higher.
This was because it was one of the few major sports available to televison at that time and represented an excellent cost per thousand viewers when the BBC's budget was extremely limited.