engrossing


Also found in: Dictionary, Thesaurus, Legal, Idioms, Wikipedia.

engrossing,

in English law, practice of acquiring a monopoly of goods in order to sell them at an inflated price. The offense was ordinarily limited to monopolies of foods. Related practices were forestalling, i.e., buying up food on the way to its normal markets, and regrating, i.e., gaining control of a commodity once it reaches the market. All these practices were declared criminal in 1844 in England. See monopolymonopoly
, market condition in which there is only one seller of a certain commodity; by virtue of the long-run control over supply, such a seller is able to exert nearly total control over prices.
..... Click the link for more information.
.

engrossing

[in′grōs·iŋ]
(graphic arts)
The production of decorative designs of letters and illuminations by an artist on citations and diplomas.
References in periodicals archive ?
Engrossing travelled with real zest and, after finding himself short of room at a crucial stage, he deserved credit for getting going again to go down by just a neck to in-form filly Martinas Delight.
It proved to be no flash in the pan as stepped up to a mile and a quarter for the first time at Haydock, Engrossing travelled with real zest and after finding himself short of room at a crucial stage, he deserved plenty of credit for getting going again to go down by just a neck to an in-form filly in Martinas Delight.
Whether read in Italian or English, its engrossing narrative, relative brevity, and clear but unpolemic expression of feminist concerns should render this romance popular with both scholars and their students, for after waiting almost four and a half centuries for publication, Urania is an important entry into contemporary discussions of gender, genre, and voice in the early modern period.
Easy to read and engrossing, The Art of the Steal shares unsettling information that can help people and businesses protect themselves.
David Matless' engrossing and important book is a welcome recent reissue in paperback.
The result is a long but engrossing police and psychological thriller about how a whistleblower drew ADM's schemes to the attention of the authorities, and how they eventually closed in on the company.
When I first brought this 1998 release home I found my mind wandering during Symphony #3 but found #7 to be really engrossing; however, upon repeated listening, I find #3 gripping from the opening bars -- and yes, I still really enjoy #7, too.
Leeming is engrossing as he charts the facts of Baldwin's life and shows where that information intersects with his fiction.
Ignore the unconvincing policy prescription at the end of this book and you've got a terrifically engrossing tale with a cast of characters Hollywood would be hard-pressed to imagine.
Fans of Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn will find this an engrossing saga that embraces mortals, immortals, armies and heroes, soldiers and journeys, and two armies that are destined to clash--but it's not military sci-fi per say, but an epic saga that winds through social conflict and struggle.
Familiarity with the prior book in the series is a prerequisite to the successful appreciation of this follow-up to the epic: an engrossing and enchanting story of survival, alliances, and uncertain survival that is as engrossing as Wheel of Time and other detailed universes.
An engrossing saga evolves, perfect for teens looking for a fast-paced fantasy.