inboard


Also found in: Dictionary, Thesaurus, Acronyms, Wikipedia.

inboard

1. (esp of a boat's motor or engine) situated within the hull
2. situated between the wing tip of an aircraft and its fuselage
Collins Discovery Encyclopedia, 1st edition © HarperCollins Publishers 2005

inboard

[′in‚bȯrd]
(engineering)
Toward or close to the longitudinal axis of a ship or aircraft.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, 6E, Copyright © 2003 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.

inboard

inboardclick for a larger image
Of aircraft components: Inward from the airfoil tip; close to the fuselage or hull, such as an inboard aileron (one situated on the inner wing between flaps, or in lieu of flaps), inboard engine, inboard rudder, inboard station, etc.
An Illustrated Dictionary of Aviation Copyright © 2005 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved

inboard

Built in. Inboard devices are built into the main unit. Contrast with outboard. See onboard.
Copyright © 1981-2019 by The Computer Language Company Inc. All Rights reserved. THIS DEFINITION IS FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. All other reproduction is strictly prohibited without permission from the publisher.
References in periodicals archive ?
Interference of inboard lateral lip: [[delta].sub.i3]=|K2-g2| (3)
When researchers from HKS's Clinical Solutions & Research team and TNTEGRIS Baptist Medical Center (IBMC), located in Oklahoma City, conducted a study to compare inboard and outboard configurations, they expected outboard configuration to perform better regarding patient visibility.
To avoid cleaning up a mess on the hangar floor or on the flight line, place a drip pan inboard of the front landing gear to catch the continuous drips.
Air New Zealand chief pilot David Morgan, who is in charge of flight operations, said the pilots were warned by an inboard safety system that the Qantas plane ``climbed through the Air New Zealand aircraft's altitude''.
Here is a breakdown of the final few moments of Columbia's journey: # 08.53EST (13.53 GMT): Some sensors for recording the temperatures in the spacecraft's hydraulic systems, both inboard and outboard, go offline; # 08.56EST (13.56 GMT): Temperatures in the housing of the left main landing gear rise; # 08.58EST (13.58 GMT): Temperature sensors in the left wing, embedded in the structure of the vehicle, stop working; # 08.59EST (13.59 GMT): The temperature and pressure sensors for both tyres on the left main landing gear go offline; # 09.00EST (14.00 GMT): Residents in North Texas report hearing a ``big bang'' in the skies.
The equipment's electronic support (ES) subsystem typically comprises an array of direction-finding (DF) and omni antennas, a DF receiver unit and an inboard ES rack that houses an operator station (with colour display), an ES computer, a main processor unit and a power distribution unit.
A few criteria concerning bow shape include aesthetics, mass weight in the riser, the grip, length of riser, limb length, balance, inboard versus outboard limbs, and finally, longbow design versus recurve design.
This is the same situation examined by Mercury Marine, a manufacturer of outboard and inboard marine engines in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, and its Mercury Castings Div.
In the last couple of weeks, the European Commission has taken a string of decisions, in the context of the EU Merger Regulation, to allow various company mergers and acquisitions to go ahead:- The Commission has granted regulatory clearance for a 49.9% stake by the US company Sanmina Corp in Inboard Leiterplattentechnologie GmbH&Co KG, a wholly-owned subsidiary of the German electrical engineering and electronics company Siemens AG.
In effect, this disabled the inboard and outboard spoilers except for the left outboard No.
Summary: The deal will see Strata become a source for Airbus A320 horizontal tail plane and A350-900 inboard flaps (IBF) in Abu Dhabi